Current Lecture Series

LECTURE PROGRAMME 2018-19

Meetings take place at 7.30 pm in the Lecture Theatre, the Royal Grammar School, Upper Tything, Worcester, WR1 1 HP (Free car parking in Little London)

Visitors welcome: Guest membership is £2 per meeting (FREE for registered students)

 

Mon 17 September: The Black Death and beyond: discoveries from archaeological test pits

Professor Carenza Lewis (University of Lincoln)

(NOTE: This lecture will be in the Perrins Hall at the Royal Grammar School – access as for the Lecture Theatre)

Mon 8 October: The broad view: investigations on the Broadway flood alleviation scheme

Richard Bradley (Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service)

Mon 29 October: Palfrey: the man, the collection and the conservation

Rhonda Niven (Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service)

Mon 19 November: The giant wombat in the basement, and other stories: Worcester’s antiquarian trailblazers

Rob Hedge (Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service)

Mon 10 December: Arthur Henry Whinfield: lantern slide photographer, archaeology enthusiast, churchman, organ builder. A centenary reflection on his Worcester life

Justin Hughes (WAAS) & Tim Bridges (Worcs & Dudley Historic Churches Trust)

Mon 14 January: From Stonehenge to Easter Island, via Bredon Hill: aerial photogrammetry and the deployment of UAVs for mapping archaeology

Adam Stanford (Aerial-Cam)

Mon 4 February: Homeless, driven out: what next?  Nuns’ lives after the Dissolution

Margaret Goodrich

Mon 25 February: The Celtic place-names of Worcestershire

Professor Andrew Breeze (University of Navarre)

Mon 25 March: ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, followed by a presentation to be announced

Mon 8 April: THE BERKELEY LECTURE

Surviving or thriving? New approaches to Worcestershire peasants in the later middle ages (1200-1540)

Professor Chris Dyer (University of Leicester)